NSW To Impose 10 Percent Betting POC Tax, Queensland Opts For 15 Percent

The state governments of New South Wales (NSW) and Queensland will impose wagering point of consumption (POC) taxes of 10 percent and 15 percent, respectively, according to budget papers released or previewed this week.

NSW and Queensland, Australia’s largest and third-largest states by population, have all but completed Australia’s tapestry of state POC tax rates, with only Tasmania yet to commit to a POC tax and Western Australia yet to confirm the size of its tax.

NSW Treasurer Dominic Perrottet confirmed the state’s 10 percent rate with The Australian newspaper on Tuesday ahead of next week’s state budget.

To continue reading please log in or request a demo to speak to a member of the team.

Request a Trial